LASUTECHX,  A REMINDER, AND REASSURANCE TO A 2018 DECISION

LASUTECHX, A REMINDER, AND REASSURANCE TO A 2018 DECISION

STANDING.jpg It all started in 2018 when I got into software development training which I named LASUCODE in my UNIVERSITY, Lagos State University. Although I finished among the top 3 students in the training, my goal is to get better every day.

LASUCODE graduation took place on Nov 30th, 2018. At the moment when I was called up to receive my certificate of participation, the only thing I could think of as I walked to the stage, was about my journey from the beginning till that moment.

I remembered how I struggled with things that seem so simple to me now; the sleepless nights, the backache I got from carrying my heavy HP duo core laptop. The stress from walking around the campus just to find a place to sit so I could have access to power while I battled with codes. Then I snapped out of my reverie for a while, I could see my facilitators(Master P and Master Abdurazaq) smiling and excited about the whole stuff.

I thought about my growth during the first few months I started training, then compared it to when I had to figure out things myself.

Then at that moment, I realized that if I wanted to grow faster having a mentor or tutor would be necessary.

This was what inspired me to make the decision to give back to the community, helping young people in tech like me get started and get ahead.

This decision was made in 2018, but it started to manifest in 2020. I became the first Google Developer student club lead for my school I became the ingressive for good co-lead Ambassador to my school.

The goal still remains to help, mentor, and motivate people who are just starting and people who left coding to become better.

In the light of developer advocacy, The LASU DEVELOPER COMMUNITIES DSC and ingressive for good inclusive came together with massive support from the LASU CBT CENTER to host the LASUTECHX conference last week Friday 22nd Feb 2021.

LASU TECHX was visioned by Mr. Kazeem MD/CEO LASU CBT CENTER. He discussed it with Oluwasuen. At first, we thought, ' what if we hold a conference?' Then Seun reached out to other community leads and it became, 'we should be able to do it to we can do it.' So we started planning it. Thanks to Mr. Kazeem, who always checked on us to know how far the prep was going.

Then it became we are doing it, and we did it. Lasutechx was like an awakening event for many people. The energy and vibe I got from the speaker and attendees encouraged me to do more of the Developer advocacy stuff and help people grow. Being part of the organizers of Lasutechx was really amazing and it has reassured me that I didn't make a wrong decision

One thing I learned from organizing LASUTECHX is that no matter what you are doing, you are motivating someone, someone at a corner is thinking like I want to be this person.

The event was targeted at showcasing to the LASU student that there are tech communities in the institution, but then the event did more than that. The event was graced by amazing speakers.

  • Samuel Erskine
  • Chris Hoard MVP
  • Adnan Hendricks
  • Holly Lehman
  • Isidora Katanic
  • Steve Buchanan
  • AYODEJI FOLARIN

The attendees had a nice time and some were really motivated to start tech some decided to pick it up again.

Screenshot 2021-02-28 at 18.27.21.png

Nice and lovely feedback from the motivated attendees, people coming back into tech, and a lot more. Screenshot 2021-02-28 at 18.33.59.png

It was really fun organizing the conference and it gladens my heart to see this impact on people. lasutechx conference image.jpg

me and mr kazeem.jpg

me and organ.jpg

Lasutechx awakened the developer advocacy spirit in me.

I am looking forward to doing more of this attendees.jpg

attendees 2.jpg

Thanks to everyone who made it a success from the organizers to the sponsors, to the speakers, and the attendees.

group 2.jpg

group photo.jpg

Screenshot 2021-02-28 at 18.29.30.png

Screenshot 2021-02-28 at 18.32.38.png